Spread Love Like Glitter

Tuesday, February 13, 2024

5 PM PT | 6 PM MT | 7 PM CT | 8 PM ET

With Rev. Marian Edmonds-Allen, Executive Director at Parity, Co-Chair at International LGBT Freedom of Religion or Belief Round Table, and Contributing Author to Colors of Hope.

We are made of earth and of stardust – and we eternally belong to God.

Join us for an Ash Wednesday Eve service that will explore the relationship between Ash Wednesday and Easter — a relationship between death and new life. We look for the spark of life, of hope, in ourselves and one another. With Glitter Ashes we will make that spark easier to see. We will witness to the gritty, glittery, scandalous hope that exists in the depths of our beings and in the breadth of our community. And we will (re)commit to spreading love.

Glitter is messy. Glitter is beautiful. And fun. And it can’t be contained. A brief program will include music, celebration and confession, glitter ashes and anointing. Fellowship will follow. Register for free.

Glitter ashes are not required to participate. Water or oil can be used during the service. From our siblings at Parity, you can make your own glitter ashes (instructions here) or order glitter ashes (here).

About Glitter+Ashes

From our siblings at Parity, a faith-based organization headquartered in NYC that builds bridges across the LGBTQ+ and faith divide:

“Glitter is like love. It’s irresistible and irrepressible. Ashes are a statement that death and suffering are real.

Glitter is a sign of our hope, which does not despair. Glitter signals our promise to repent, to show up, to witness, to work.

Ash Wednesday is a day when Christians receive the mark of the cross on their foreheads to begin the 40 days of reflection and repentance in preparation for Easter.

Glitter Ashes lets the world know that we are progressive, queer-positive Christians. We are in the pews, in the pulpits and giving glitter ashes in the street to those who either may not have time to go to a church — or may have been rejected by a church.”

Parity has made available a range of resources, church and street liturgies, event ideas, theological talking points, and a how-to on making your own glitter ashes.

Join us. Support Us. Spread Love.

Register for the February 13 virtual event now.

Can’t join us but want to support us? Donate to fund this event and support the ministries of AllianceQ.

Wear the message.

Purchase AllianceQ merchandise here.